Baptism

Standard

My mist in eyes
Signal demise
Into the lake
Of misery I sink
To drown with weight
Of that which
Drags me down
Too deep to rise the same
As what I was before

The rise of ocean
Fills the eye to brim
I swallow in the tide
Of hiding hold of current
Waves of driving low
The dive within too much
To swim but seep
With breaking grief
That cracks me like a rock
In parts and have to wade
About in sea together gather
Floating shades of me
To catch a self to want to reel
And roll with swell and join
In feeling need
In deed to crawl
Up to the bank
Of landed life
To start to live again

© K Barr

Leave a Reply

