Four Walls Do A Prison Make

Standard

The wind of change
Unbidden blew
Me through the door
Beyond my range
A space so strange
I’ve never been before
I’d rather have
My known in place
Of riddles with such fear
And shame uncertainty
So powerless I can not name
With no control and knowing
Nought I must erase
And go back to that place
I hate to name as home
A prison with no risk
To roam and to be free
For there at least I know
Myself to be
What cramped four walls
Compress into what
I call
Me

© K Barr

Leave a Reply

