Mirror

Standard

Speak to me in lies

For these are things

That I believe

Are worldly wise

And true

From you

Who once I loved

To hate despise

And now

What’s left

Is all I never

Got to shed

On you

Who in my desperation

To escape myself

I led me up a path

Of no return

Was lost

In search of an embrace

Your face

I lost my own

Retrace my steps

And what is left

The rest is yet

To come before

The one whom

Once I loved

To hate because

I never got

To love myself

The lies I told

When behold

It held

My face

 

©K Barr

Leave a Reply

